Istorie & critică literară

Produse pe pagină:
Sortare după:

A Short History of the Crimean War

The Crimean War (1853-1856) was the first modern war. A vicious struggle between imperial Russia and an alliance of the British, French and Ottoman Empires, it was the first conflict to be reported first-hand in newspapers, painted by official war artists, recorded by telegraph and photographed by camera. In her new short history Trudi Tate discusses the ways in which this novel representation its..

62,00 Lei

A History of Children's Books in 100 Books

While the modern children's book, intended specifically for the enjoyment of children, did not emerge until 18th-century Europe, its roots span centuries and continents: children's literature began with fables, myths and folk tales from the oral tradition. A History of the Children's Book in 100 Books takes a global perspective and traces the development of the genre from ancient stories such as..

170,00 Lei

A Tolkien Treasury (Miniature Edition)

Stories, poems, illustrations, and essays by writers such as W.H. Auden, Colin Wilson, and Edmund Wilson that celebrate the work of the popular fantasy writer J.R.R. Tolkien. ..

29,00 Lei

Agatha Christie's Marple: The Life and Times of Miss Jane Marple

Autoarea a cercetat atent cele 12 romane si 20 de povestiri in care apare Miss Marple si i-a recompus biografia din mici marturisiri, amintiri, aluzii. ..

33,00 Lei

Anna Karenina Fix: Life Lessons from Russian Literature

'Wonderfully entertaining, hilarious. Contains the distilled wisdom of some of the greatest writers who ever lived' Allison Pearson, Sunday Telegraph What should I do with my life? What if my love is not returned? Why do bad things happen? The answers to some of life's biggest questions are found not in trite self-help manuals but in the tough-love lessons explored in Russian literature...

56,00 Lei

At the Existentialist Cafe: Freedom, Being, and Apricot Cocktails

Paris, near the turn of 1932-3. Three young friends meet over apricot cocktails at the Bec-de-Gaz bar on the rue Montparnasse. They are Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir and their friend Raymond Aron, who opens their eyes to a radical new way of thinking... "It's not often that you miss your bus stop because you're so engrossed in reading a book about existentialism, but I did exactly that..

56,00 Lei

Book Thieves Stoc momentan epuizat

Book Thieves

The story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. "A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic libraria..

55,00 Lei

Censored: A Literary History of Subversion & Control

The list of books suppressed in the English language features the sacred and profane, poetic and pornographic, famous and infamous. A history of literary censorship is therefore a history not only of texts but of the authorities that have attempted to prevent their circulation: sovereigns, politicians, judges, prison officers, slaveholders, school governors, librarians, teachers, parents, studen..

170,00 Lei

Consciousness and the Novel

Human consciousness, long the province of literature, has lately come in for a remapping - even rediscovery - by the natural sciences, driven by developments in Artificial Intelligence, neuroscience, and evolutionary biology. But as the richest record we have of human consciousness, literature, David Lodge suggests, may offer a kind of knowledge about this phenomenon that is complementary, not o..

56,00 Lei

History of the Hobbit 2: The Return to Bag-End

A major new examination of how J.R.R.Tolkien came to write his original masterpiece ‘The Hobbit’, including his complete unpublished draft version of the story, and many little-known illustrations and previously unpublished maps by Tolkien himself. The History of the Hobbit presents for the first time, in two volumes, the complete unpublished text of the original manuscript of J.R.R.Tolkien’s Th..

57,00 Lei

In Search of the First Civilizations

Five thousand years ago there began the most momentous revolution in human history. Starting in Mesopotamia, city civilization emerged for the first time on earth, to be followed in Egypt, India, China and the Americas. The ideals of these ancient civilizations still shape the lives of the majority of mankind. "In Search of the First Civilizations" (previously published as Legacy) asks the intri..

58,00 Lei

Kublai Khan: The Mongol King Hwo Remade China

In Xanadu did Kublai Khan, a stately pleasure dome decree. Kublai Khan lives on in the popular imagination thanks to these two lines of poetry by Coleridge. But the true story behind this legend is even more fantastic than the poem would have us believe. He inherited the second largest land empire in history from his grandfather, Genghis Khan. He promptly set about extending this into the biggest ..

58,00 Lei

Lords of Finance: 1929, The Great Depression, and the Bankers who Broke the World Stoc momentan epuizat

Lords of Finance: 1929, The Great Depression, and the Bankers who Broke the World

This has happened before. The current financial crisis has only one parallel: the Wall Street Crash of 1929 and subsequent Great Depression of the 1930s, which crippled the future of an entire generation and set the stage for the horrors of the Second World War. Yet the economic meltdown could have been avoided, had it not been for the decisions taken by a small number of central bankers. In ..

64,00 Lei

Mongol Empire: Genghis Khan, His Heirs and the Founding of Modern China

Genghis Khan is one of history's immortals: a leader of genius, driven by an inspiring vision for peaceful world rule. Believing he was divinely protected, Genghis united warring clans to create a nation and then an empire that ran across much of Asia. Under his grandson, Kublai Khan, the vision evolved into a more complex religious ideology, justifying further expansion. Kublai doubled the e..

58,00 Lei

Nazi Literature in the Americas

Featuring several mass-murdering authors, two fraternal writers at the head of a football-hooligan ring and a poet who crafts his lines in the air with sky writing, Nazi Literature in the Americas details the lives of a rich cast of characters from one of the most extraordinarily fecund imaginations in world literature. Written with acerbic wit and virtuosic flair, this encyclopaedic cavalcade o..

53,00 Lei

No God But God: The Origins, Evolution and Future of Islam

Ten years on from 9/11, much of the Muslim faith remains largely unknown and misunderstood in the West. While there have been a number of successful books on the topic of Islamic history - from Karen Armstrong's Islam: A Brief History to Bernard Lewis's The Crises of Islam - there is surprisingly no book for a popular audience about Islam as a religion, let alone one by an author from an Islamic..

58,00 Lei

Novel and Short Story Writer's Market 2011 -63%

Novel and Short Story Writer's Market 2011

The Best Resource Available for Getting Your Fiction Published For 30 years, Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market has provided aspiring authors with the most complete and up-to-date information they need on publishing their work. This edition is the best yet, with more than 1,500 listings and more editorial content than ever before—with interviews and articles from industry insiders on per..

128,00 Lei 48,00 Lei

Seven Dada Manifestoes and Lampisteries Stoc momentan epuizat

Seven Dada Manifestoes and Lampisteries

This volume contains Tristan Tzara’s famous manifestos, which first appeared between 1916 and 1921 and became essential texts of the modern movement and models for Breton’s Surrealist manifestos. Art for Tzara was both deadly serious and a game, and the playfulness of his character is apparent not only in his polemic, which often uses dadaist typography, but in the delightful drawings contribute..

56,00 Lei

Travelling Heroes: Greeks and Their Myths in the Epic Age of Homer

Robin Lane Fox's Travelling Heroes: Greeks and their Myths in the Epic Age of Homer proposes a new way of thinking about ancient Greeks, showing how real-life journeys shaped their mythical tales. The tales of the ancient Greeks have inspired us for thousands of years. But where did they originate? Esteemed classicist Robin Lane Fox draws on a lifetime's knowledge of the ancient world, and on..

78,00 Lei

Ultimate Happiness Prescription: 7 Keys to Joy and Enlightenment

Seven steps to lasting happiness. In The Ultimate Happiness Prescription, bestselling author and the world's leading figure in alternative medicine Dr Deepak Chopra show us how to be happy in spite of living in difficult or trying times. By looking through the lens of our contemporary understanding of consciousness, combined with Eastern philosophy, he has created a set of principles for living ..

52,00 Lei

Written World: How Literature Shaped History

From clay tablets to the printing press. From the pencil to the internet. From the Epic of Gilgamesh to Harry Potter. This is the true story of literature -- of how great texts and technologies have shaped cultures and civilizations and altered human history. The inventions of paper, the printing press and the world wide web are usually considered the major influences on the way we share stories..

56,00 Lei