Blackwing

ISBN: 9781473222038
Disponibilitate: În Stoc
Preţ: 52,00 Lei
Cant:  
   - SAU -   

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.

Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.


Dark, twisty and excellent... Grimdark with heart. (MARK LAWRENCE)

Guaranteed already, this will be one of the best books I will read this year. (FANTASY BOOK REVIEW)

A real fantastical page-turner. (SciFiNow)

Blackwing is a book that surprised me more than any other has so far this year. It's the debut of Ed McDonald and boy what a way to make an entrance. (SF BOOK)

Their story moves at an (ahem) spellbinding pace. (SFX MAGAZINE)

An impressive work of fantasy, and one I think we'll be hearing more about. Highly recommended. (SF AND F REVIEWS)

Fabulously inventive and at times horrifyingly funny and action packed. (MORNING STAR)

Ed McDonald is an author to watch out for. I don't say things like this lightly. I read a lot of fantasy, and I don't hesitate to say that this will be one of the biggest fantasy debuts of the year. McDonald has given us the first instalment of what looks to be a very interesting series. (THE BOOK BAG)

A very impressive debut, with complex characters and an imaginative setting that does much to impress the reader. (SFF WORLD)

Ed McDonald has taken something old and made it new... it's epic. (Fantasy Book Critic)

Detalii
Autor MCDONALD, Ed
An apariţie 2018
Editura Gollancz
Nr pagini 400
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B
Etichete: mcdonald ed
Toate preturile contin TVA ANPC Creare Magazin Online