Toymakers

ISBN: 9781785036354
Disponibilitate: În Stoc
Preţ: 51,00 Lei
Cant:  
   - SAU -   

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

An enchanting, magical novel set in a mysterious toyshop - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Stephanie Garber's Caraval by way of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment.

The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own.

But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own...

'engaging and enchanting ... a fairytale for adults, with all the wonder – and terror – that that entails...it is the sense of joy that lingers in this fine book.' The Observer

An EBook Number 1 bestseller with over 100 5* reviews - readers are enchanted by this magic tale:


'If you only buy one book this year - buy this one'

'As if Terry Pratchett has come back to life Disney Toy Story style'

'Best book I've read for many years'

'A book to lose yourself in'

"There is magic at the heart of The Toymakers, a glittery inventiveness that shimmers through the dark corners of a story about love, war and sibling rivalry...Robert Dinsdale's imagined toys are truly glorious...a gripping, moving story." (SUNDAY EXPRESS)

"Like the magic at the heart of the story, this vivid, haunting novel is both vast and intimate. A world war echoes a family conflict, and the delights and dangers of childhood suddenly have vast implications. A wonderful and thought-provoking read." (KATHERINE ARDEN, author of The Winternight Series)

"What an extraordinary and wonderful achievement this novel is! I was gripped, and thrilled, and touched, and above all I was completely swept into the magic of the book...And the scope of the thing! Such a broad chronological range, such sweep, all with the lightest touch. Just astonishing." (ADAM ROBERTS)

"truly magical ... Anyone who’s ever stepped inside a traditional toyshop and marvelled at the wonders on display will instantly be captivated by this book, which transports readers to The Emporium in London. Prepare to be charmed by this utterly enchanting tale." (CULTUREFLY)

"A magical World War I novel" (METRO)

Detalii
Autor DINSDALE, Robert
An apariţie 2018
Editura Del Rey
Nr pagini 480
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B
Etichete: dinsdale robert
Toate preturile contin TVA ANPC Creare Magazin Online