Wizard and the Prophet: Two Groundbreaking Scientists and Their Conflicting Visions of the Future of Our Planet (format mare)

ISBN: 9781509884179
Disponibilitate: În Stoc
Preţ: 95,00 Lei
Cant:  
   - SAU -   

In forty years, the population of the Earth will reach ten billion. Can our world support so many people? What kind of world will it be? In this unique, original and important book, Charles C. Mann illuminates the four great challenges we face – food, water, energy, climate change – through an exploration of the crucial work and wide-ranging influence of two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt.

Vogt (the Prophet) was the intellectual forefather of the environmental movement, and believed that in our using more than the planet has to give, our prosperity will bring us to ruin. Borlaug’s research in the 1950s led to the development of modern high-yield crops that have saved millions from starvation. The Wizard of Mann’s title, he believed that science will continue to rise to the challenges we face.

Mann tells the stories of these scientists and their crucial influence on today’s debates as his story ranges from Mexico to India, across continents and oceans and from the past and the present to the future. Brilliantly original in concept, wryly observant and deeply researched, The Wizard and the Prophet is essential reading for readers of Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens or Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs and Steel, for anyone interested in how we got here and in the future of our species.


"Brilliant . . . The author's science journalism shines." --William Easterly, The Wall Street Journal

"An elegantly written, devoted testimonial to the art of the possible." --Jonathan Hahn, Sierra

"Mann's storytelling skills are unmatched. . . . The great virtue of Mann's book--and much of his journalism over many years--is that it raises very large questions . . . that are usually either ignored or answered in slogans. He provides detail enough, and simplicity enough, that anyone who is struggling with these puzzles will be enlightened and informed. And entertained, which, given the subject matter, is no small feat." --Bill McKibben, The New York Times Book Review

"Fascinating . . . An inquisitive and gifted science writer." --Tyler Priest, Science

"The most persuasive writers on the environment punctuate their big-picture theses with telling details that bring the relevant issues to life. Like Elizabeth Kolbert and Tim Flannery, Charles C. Mann is one of the masters of this art . . . a stimulating, thoughtful, balanced overview of matters vital to us all." --Dan Cryer, The Boston Globe

"Mann is a compelling and forensic analyst of big tipping points in human affairs." --Fred Pearce, The Washington Post

"Charles C. Mann specializes in deep, comprehensive looks at the past that better elucidate the present." --Mary Ellen Hannibal, San Francisco Chronicle

"Best-selling author and journalist Mann tackles the thorny problem of humankind's future through the lens of two 20th-century visionaries. . . . A sweeping, provocative work of journalism, history, science and philosophy." --Library Journal starred review

"Without taking sides, Mann delivers a fine examination of two possible paths to a livable future." --Publisher's Weekly starred review

"An insightful, highly significant account that makes no predictions but lays out the critical environmental problems already upon us."--Kirkus starred review

"The contrast is stark--technological wizardry or romantic prophecy as a lens to view the future path for the planet and humanity. Charles Mann provides a deeply corrugated, richly nuanced, and highly entertaining narrative to make sense of the most consequential decisions facing civilization. Read, think, and enjoy." --Ruth deFries, author of The Big Ratchet: How Humanity Thrives in the Face of Natural Crisis

"Brilliantly conceived and executed, Charles Mann's The Wizard and the Prophet is the book I have long awaited--thoughtful, balanced and unbiased--to understand the challenges that humanity will face as the twenty-first century progresses. Mann's historical perspective provides the critically important context for us to understand how we got here and how we might solve the problems presented by a finite world of ten billion humans." -Gary Taubes, author of The Case Against Sugar

"The Wizard and the Prophet is a fascinating portrait of two men who probably shaped your thinking about the future, whether you realize it or not. Charles Mann proves, once again, a masterful storyteller." - Elizabeth Kolbert, author of The Sixth Extinction

"A rich, elegant, ferociously readable study of our global quandary. Among the many excellent things Charles C. Mann does in The Wizard and the Prophet is give us a fresh, and wholly unexpected, way of understanding today's political divide." --Russell Shorto, author of Revolution Song

"A fascinating story of two forgotten men whose ideas changed our understanding of humanity's place in nature. The Wizard and the Prophet is an intellectual history of the clash between techno-optimists and environmentalists, but it's also the very personal story of two thinkers, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt. Mann offers a sympathetic, nuanced way to understand one of the fundamental debates of our time: How will 10 billion humans live sustainably on Earth, when our demands for energy and food are growing? This book showcases an important new kind of futurism, which looks to the past to understand how we'll survive. Never preachy nor dogmatic, Mann asks his readers to do the most difficult thing possible: choose a path to a better world, by consulting your own conscience." --Annalee Newitz, editor, Ars Technica

Detalii
Autor MANN, Charles C.
An apariţie 2018
Editura Picador 
Nr pagini 608
Dimensiuni 15.4 x 3.5 x 23.4 cm
Format Trade Paperback
Etichete: mann charles
Toate preturile contin TVA ANPC Creare Magazin Online