A Memory Called Empire (Shortlisted for the Goodreads Choice Awards 2019 ‘)
Detalii
Autor ARKADY, Martine
An apariţie 2020
Editura TOR
Nr pagini 464
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B

A Memory Called Empire (Shortlisted for the Goodreads Choice Awards 2019 ‘)

  • Cod produs: 9781529001594
  • Disponibilitate: În Stoc
  • 52,00 Lei

Descriere

Arkady Martine's A Memory Called Empire is one of the hottest science fiction debuts around, with amazing word-of-mouth acclaim still building. For those who loved Ann Leckie's epic space opera Ancillary Justice, Tasmyn Muir's Gideon the Ninth and Iain M. Banks’s Culture novels.

Shortlisted for the Goodreads Choice Awards 2019
‘Contender for debut of the year’ SFX Magazine


In a war of lies she seeks the truth . . .

Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire’s interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn’t accidental – and she might be next.

Now Mahit must navigate the capital’s enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.

As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she’s hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.


'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved i
t' – Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee

An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard

An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down -- Jo Walton

An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear

A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod

In A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating -- Charlie Jane Anders

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next -- Martha Wells

Arkady Martine’s first novel is a thrillingly smart space opera with grand scope. Everything’s here: plots and counterplots, political manoeuvring, great writing, and brilliant ideas on language and empire. Like Iain M. Banks, she’s created a universe that can spawn a hundred books. Hop on now, people -- Daryl Gregory

Exquisite and smart as hell -- Fran Wilde

Etichete: martine arkady