Meniu
Cos de cumparaturi

Good Morning Midnight (Now a Netfix Film)

Good Morning Midnight (Now a Netfix Film)
-20 %
Good Morning Midnight (Now a Netfix Film)
  • Stoc: În stoc
  • ISBN: 9781474600606
41,60 Lei
52,00 Lei
Fără TVA: 41,60 Lei
SOON TO BE THE MAJOR NETFLIX FILM 'THE MIDNIGHT SKY', DIRECTED BY GEORGE CLOONEY, STARRING FELICITY JONES AND GEORGE CLOONEY '

'A remarkable and gifted debut' Colson Whitehead, author of The Underground Railroad

'Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships' Washington Post

There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine, a brilliant, ageing scientist, is consumed by the stars. He has spent his entire life searching for the origins of time itself. He has now been left alone on a remote research base in the Arctic circle, all communication with the outside world broken down. But then he discovers a mysterious child, Iris, who must have hidden herself away when the last of his colleagues departed.

Sully is a divorced mother. She is also an astronaut, currently aboard The Aether on a return flight from Jupiter. This is the culmination of her career, the very reason for all the sacrifices she has made - the daughter she left behind, the marriage she couldn't save. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to.

Marooned in the vast silence of space and the achingly beautiful sweep of the Arctic, both Augustine and Sully begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are.

Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact . . . Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void, Publishers Weekly

Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation while Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone, Booklist

What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? . . . Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut -- Yiyun Li, author of THE VAGRANTS

A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . This beautiful story reminds us of our deep longing for connection-with those we love, with strangers, with ourselves -- Keith Scribner

Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart -- Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD
Detalii
Autor BROOKS-DALTON, Lily
An apariţie 2017
Editura W & N
Nr pagini 272
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B
Cuvinte cheie: lily brooks-dalton