CANCEL
Nu există rezultate.
 0722 494 500       nautilus@nautilus.ro     
Independent bookshop since 2000
Click & Collect: ridicare rapidă din librărie
Ridicare personală din easybox
Livrare gratuită pentru comenzi de peste 180 lei
HIGHLIGHTS / Myths & Legends

Medusa's Sisters

Paperback
ISBN:  9781803364728
RRP: 54,00 lei 43,20 lei
Cel mai mic preț din ultimele 30 de zile
 
CLICK & COLLECT
Ridicare rapidă din librărie
ADD TO BASKET

Descriere

A vividly stunning reimagining of the myth of Medusa and the sisters who loved her, in this captivating, moving debut novel, perfect for fans of Stone Blind and Ariadne.

Even before they were transformed into Gorgons, Medusa and her sisters Stheno and Euryale were unique among immortals. Curious about mortals and their lives, Medusa and her sisters entered the human world in search of a place to belong, yet quickly found themselves at the perilous center of a dangerous Olympian rivalry and learned – too late – that a god's love is a violent one.

Forgotten by history and diminished by poets, the other two Gorgons have never been more than horrifying hags, damned and doomed. But they were sisters first, and their journey from seaborne origins to the outskirts of the Pantheon is a journey that rests, hidden, underneath their scales.

Monsters, but not monstrous, Stheno and Euryale will step into the light for the first time to tell the story of how all three sisters lived and were changed by each other, as they struggle against the inherent conflict between sisterhood and individuality, myth and truth, vengeance and peace.


""Medusa's two almost-forgotten sisters – Stheno and Euryale – come to enchanting life, telling their own stories, bound to Medusa yet separate and fiercely free to make their own destiny. Medusa's Sisters gives us an intimate look at what it means to be an immortal yet walk and live among human beings. Lyrical, exquisitely detailed, and poignant."" – Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Helen of Troy

""With stunningly beautiful prose, Lauren J.A. Bear has deftly tugged on myths of old to weave a fresh and feminist modern legend from the dusty references of Medusa's once-forgotten sisters. Perfect for fans of Circe, this is easily one of the best books I've read this year. Prepare to be enthralled!"" – Stephanie Marie Thornton, USA Today bestselling author of Her Lost Words

""Medusa's Sisters is a wonderful, powerful story that totally absorbed me. Clothed in Greek mythology, it explores the loyalties and conflicts of family – especially the relationship between sisters who are bound together at birth but also need the independence to claim a life of their own. It is a compliment to Ms. Bear's writing that I never saw monsters, only sisters."" – Anne Bishop, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen's Price and Crowbones

""Medusa's Sisters is a stunning debut. Lauren Bear writes with lyrical elegance, her gorgeous prose illuminating the fierce power of women, the bonds of sisterhood, and the enduring strength of myths and legends. A gloriously feminist novel that achieves both historical richness and modern relevance. As thought-provoking as it is entertaining. I couldn't put it down."" - – Mimi Matthews, USA Today bestselling author of The Siren of Sussex

""In giving a voice to those long silenced, Medusa's Sisters brings the cosmology of ancient Greece to vivid life, writhing and seething with numinous possibility. It is a story of monsters and mortals, and the gods who use them both with careless cruelty."" – Jacqueline Carey, New York Times bestselling author of Kushiel's Dart and Cassiel's Servant

""Bold, beautiful, and brilliantly subversive, Bear's incredible debut is engrossing from the very first page. With her ambitious storytelling, Bear breathes life to characters often reduced to the shadows, and has proven herself as a talent to watch!"" – Claire M. Andrews, author of the Daughter of Sparta trilogy

“Lyrical, brilliant, and deeply moving, MEDUSA’S SISTERS connects the stars—the myths you thought you knew—in startling new ways. Prepare to be devastated.” —Mary McMyne, author of The Book of Gothel

""Alive with soaring poetry and myth, Medusa's Sisters sparkles as a delightfully feminist subversion of the maligned and forgotten Gorgon women, reframing and bringing their shadowy legend fiercely, vengefully, into the light. A bold and beautiful tale about sisterhood, motherhood, and what it truly means to be a woman."" —Olesya Salnikova Gilmore, author of The Witch and the Tsar

"A must-read for Greek mythology fans seeking new depth in their tales and those who enjoyed Madeline Miller’s Circe or Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls." —Library Journal (starred review)

Detalii

Editura: Titan Books
An apariție: 2023
Nr. pagini: 352
Dimensiuni: 20 x 13 cm
NAUTILUS English Books este membru asociat al Booksellers Association of the UK and Ireland

Newsletter

Dacă dorești să te ținem la curent, te rugăm să introduci mai jos adresa de email
 Abonare
 Abonare
Acest site foloseste cookies pentru a personaliza conținutul, pentru analiza traficului și statistică; unele informații de utilizare a site-ului sunt procesate de partenerii noștri. Puteți oricând să ștergeți cookie-urile din browser. Citeste aici politica de cookies, politica de confidentialitate si termenii si conditiile de utilizare.
Am citit, am inteles si sunt de acord.