Istorie & critică literară

Produse pe pagină:
Sortare după:

A Little History of Literature

A much-loved author brings the world of literature alive for all ages This 'little history' takes on a very big subject: the glorious span of literature from Greek myth to graphic novels, from The Epic of Gilgamesh to Harry Potter. John Sutherland is perfectly suited to the task. He has researched, taught, and written on virtually every area of literature, and his infectious passion for books and ..

68,00 Lei

Dear Fahrenheit 451 : A Librarian's Love Letters and Break-Up Notes to Her Books

Have you ever wished you could tell your favourite books just what they mean to you? Or wanted to give a piece of your mind to the ‘must-read’ book that you wish you hadn’t?Librarian Annie Spence has done just that, writing letters to the books under her care, from love letters to Matilda and The Goldfinch, to snarky break-up notes to Fifty Shades of Grey and The Hobbit. Annie’s letters will make ..

54,00 Lei

Empty Space (Peter Brook) - PMC

Adapted from a series of four lectures, originally delivered as the first of the Granada Northern Lectures Peter Brook's The Empty Space is an exploration of four aspects of theatre, 'Deadly, Holy, Rough and Immediate', published in Penguin Modern Classics. 'I can take any empty space and call it a bare stage' In The Empty Space, groundbreaking director Peter Brook draws on a life in love with t..

58,00 Lei

Social Life of Books: Reading Together in the Eighteenth-Century Home

A vivid exploration of the evolution of reading as an essential social and domestic activity during the eighteenth century Two centuries before the advent of radio, television, and motion pictures, books were a cherished form of popular entertainment and an integral component of domestic social life. In this fascinating and vivid history, Abigail Williams explores the ways in which shared reading ..

109,00 Lei

A History of Children's Books in 100 Books

While the modern children's book, intended specifically for the enjoyment of children, did not emerge until 18th-century Europe, its roots span centuries and continents: children's literature began with fables, myths and folk tales from the oral tradition. A History of the Children's Book in 100 Books takes a global perspective and traces the development of the genre from ancient stories such as..

170,00 Lei

A Tolkien Treasury (Miniature Edition)

Stories, poems, illustrations, and essays by writers such as W.H. Auden, Colin Wilson, and Edmund Wilson that celebrate the work of the popular fantasy writer J.R.R. Tolkien. ..

29,00 Lei

Agatha Christie's Marple: The Life and Times of Miss Jane Marple

Autoarea a cercetat atent cele 12 romane si 20 de povestiri in care apare Miss Marple si i-a recompus biografia din mici marturisiri, amintiri, aluzii. ..

33,00 Lei

Anna Karenina Fix: Life Lessons from Russian Literature

'Wonderfully entertaining, hilarious. Contains the distilled wisdom of some of the greatest writers who ever lived' Allison Pearson, Sunday Telegraph What should I do with my life? What if my love is not returned? Why do bad things happen? The answers to some of life's biggest questions are found not in trite self-help manuals but in the tough-love lessons explored in Russian literature...

56,00 Lei

At the Existentialist Cafe: Freedom, Being, and Apricot Cocktails

Paris, near the turn of 1932-3. Three young friends meet over apricot cocktails at the Bec-de-Gaz bar on the rue Montparnasse. They are Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir and their friend Raymond Aron, who opens their eyes to a radical new way of thinking... "It's not often that you miss your bus stop because you're so engrossed in reading a book about existentialism, but I did exactly that..

63,00 Lei

Book Thieves

The story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners. "A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic libraria..

55,00 Lei

Censored: A Literary History of Subversion & Control

The list of books suppressed in the English language features the sacred and profane, poetic and pornographic, famous and infamous. A history of literary censorship is therefore a history not only of texts but of the authorities that have attempted to prevent their circulation: sovereigns, politicians, judges, prison officers, slaveholders, school governors, librarians, teachers, parents, studen..

170,00 Lei

History of the Hobbit 1: Mr Baggins

A major new examination of how J.R.R.Tolkien came to write his original masterpiece ‘The Hobbit’, including his complete unpublished draft version of the story, and many little-known illustrations and previously unpublished maps by Tolkien himself. The History of the Hobbit presents for the first time, in two volumes, the complete unpublished text of the original manuscript of J.R.R.Tolkien’s Th..

66,00 Lei

History of the Hobbit 2: The Return to Bag-End

A major new examination of how J.R.R.Tolkien came to write his original masterpiece ‘The Hobbit’, including his complete unpublished draft version of the story, and many little-known illustrations and previously unpublished maps by Tolkien himself. The History of the Hobbit presents for the first time, in two volumes, the complete unpublished text of the original manuscript of J.R.R.Tolkien’s Th..

57,00 Lei

In Search of the First Civilizations

Five thousand years ago there began the most momentous revolution in human history. Starting in Mesopotamia, city civilization emerged for the first time on earth, to be followed in Egypt, India, China and the Americas. The ideals of these ancient civilizations still shape the lives of the majority of mankind. "In Search of the First Civilizations" (previously published as Legacy) asks the intri..

58,00 Lei

Kublai Khan: The Mongol King Hwo Remade China

In Xanadu did Kublai Khan, a stately pleasure dome decree. Kublai Khan lives on in the popular imagination thanks to these two lines of poetry by Coleridge. But the true story behind this legend is even more fantastic than the poem would have us believe. He inherited the second largest land empire in history from his grandfather, Genghis Khan. He promptly set about extending this into the biggest ..

58,00 Lei

Mongol Empire: Genghis Khan, His Heirs and the Founding of Modern China

Genghis Khan is one of history's immortals: a leader of genius, driven by an inspiring vision for peaceful world rule. Believing he was divinely protected, Genghis united warring clans to create a nation and then an empire that ran across much of Asia. Under his grandson, Kublai Khan, the vision evolved into a more complex religious ideology, justifying further expansion. Kublai doubled the e..

58,00 Lei

Nazi Literature in the Americas

Featuring several mass-murdering authors, two fraternal writers at the head of a football-hooligan ring and a poet who crafts his lines in the air with sky writing, Nazi Literature in the Americas details the lives of a rich cast of characters from one of the most extraordinarily fecund imaginations in world literature. Written with acerbic wit and virtuosic flair, this encyclopaedic cavalcade o..

53,00 Lei

Novel and Short Story Writer's Market 2011 -63%

Novel and Short Story Writer's Market 2011

The Best Resource Available for Getting Your Fiction Published For 30 years, Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market has provided aspiring authors with the most complete and up-to-date information they need on publishing their work. This edition is the best yet, with more than 1,500 listings and more editorial content than ever before—with interviews and articles from industry insiders on per..

128,00 Lei 48,00 Lei

Travelling Heroes: Greeks and Their Myths in the Epic Age of Homer

Robin Lane Fox's Travelling Heroes: Greeks and their Myths in the Epic Age of Homer proposes a new way of thinking about ancient Greeks, showing how real-life journeys shaped their mythical tales. The tales of the ancient Greeks have inspired us for thousands of years. But where did they originate? Esteemed classicist Robin Lane Fox draws on a lifetime's knowledge of the ancient world, and on..

78,00 Lei

Written World: How Literature Shaped History

From clay tablets to the printing press. From the pencil to the internet. From the Epic of Gilgamesh to Harry Potter. This is the true story of literature -- of how great texts and technologies have shaped cultures and civilizations and altered human history. The inventions of paper, the printing press and the world wide web are usually considered the major influences on the way we share stories..

56,00 Lei