Meniu
Cos de cumparaturi

Rapture

Rapture
-20 %
Rapture
  • Stoc: În stoc
  • ISBN: 9780571345199
41,60 Lei
52,00 Lei
Fără TVA: 41,60 Lei
'Poignant' Sunday Times 'Gripping.' Metro 'Fascinating.' The Times 'Enrapturing.' Red Magazine

Miss Dilys Barltrop is a devoted member of The Panacea Society, a cult populated almost entirely by virtuous single women.

When she strikes up a friendship with Grace - a new recruit - God finally seems to be smiling upon her. But Dilys is wary of her leader's zealotry, and fearful of those who watch her every move, hoping for a sign of the deep and terrible failings she struggles to keep hidden. Faith is supplanted by doubt, and as both women come to question what is true and fear what is real, Dilys will have to learn the true cost of absolute devotion...

A remarkable story, remarkably told. Peppered with deft one-liners, sharp observations and eccentric characters who feel real. To read The Rapture is to immerse yourself in a complete and curious world where internal passions meet external appearances. I loved it. Claire McGlasson is a brave and brilliant new voice in fiction. -- Jess Kidd, author of HIMSELF and THINGS IN JARS

An extremely accomplished debut. I was absolutely fascinated by all the details about The Panacea Society... the narrative voice of Dilys drives the plot beautifully and it is impossible not to feel her fear, joy and anguish. I found Claire's story gripping, unsettling and ultimately extremely moving. It is a tale beautifully and sensitively told that continues to haunt me. -- Ruth Hogan, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS

Intriguing [and] fascinating. impressive. ― The Times

Poignant and compelling... made all the more remarkable for being rooted in fact. Claire McGlasson portrays beautifully Dilys' struggle to reconcile her newly awakened thoughts and feelings with the beliefs instilled in her by those she has always trusted. In peering into the claustrophobic world of The Panacea Society, we're forced to consider the relationship between dreams and reality; love and obsession; and blind faith and madness. This is a story that will stay with me. -- Sarah Haywood, author of THE CACTUS

McGlasson has built a compelling portrait of a group of vulnerable souls, devastated by loss and war, looking for a truth that they can believe in. A powerful and thought provoking piece of work. it seeps into your soul. ― Book Bound

Brilliant. ― Savidge Reads

A poignant tale based on a true story. ― Best

As poignant as it is fascinating. ― The People

An utterly fascinating novel that skillfully weaves together fact and fiction to create a compelling and vibrant story of a terribly English cult... historical fiction fans are sure to find a great deal to enjoy here and the novel would be perfect for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls, or Jennie Melmed's Gather the Daughters... A vibrant, unsettling and moving coming-of-age tale that is sure to keep you reading late into the evening. ― The Shelf of Unread Books

The Panacea Society was a real-life religious movement for well-mannered, single ladies founded by Octavia who believed (and persuaded her followers) that she was the Daughter of God. McGlasson takes this post-WW1 cult as inspiration for her fascinating and enrapturing(!) debut novel. There are echoes of Muriel Spark and Elizabeth Taylor in The Rapture and I can already see Lesley Manville playing Octavia in the TV dramatization, which I hope happens very soon. -- Sara Manning ― Red, The Best Books to Read This June


Detalii
Autor MCGLASSON, Claire
An apariţie 2021
Editura Faber & Faber
Nr pagini 368
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B
Cuvinte cheie: claire mcglasson