CANCEL
Nu există rezultate.
 0722 494 500       nautilus@nautilus.ro     
Independent bookshop since 2000
Click & Collect: ridicare rapidă din librărie
Ridicare personală din easybox
Livrare gratuită pentru comenzi de peste 180 lei
PRE-ORDER

Shy Creatures

A novel about love, family and the joy of freedom from the award-winning author of Small Pleasures, perfect for fans of Sarah Winman and Maggie O'Farrell

Release Date: 29.08.2024
Hardback
ISBN:  9781399602556
RRP: 120,00 lei 96,00 lei
Cel mai mic preț din ultimele 30 de zile
STOCK REMINDER
PRE-ORDER

Descriere

In all failed relationships there is a point that passes unnoticed at the time, which can later be identified as the beginning of the decline. For Helen it was the weekend that the Hidden Man came to Westbury Park.

Croydon, 1964. Helen Hansford is in her thirties and an art therapist in a psychiatric hospital where she has been having a long love affair with Gil: a charismatic, married doctor.

One spring afternoon they receive a call about a disturbance from a derelict house not far from Helen's home. A mute, thirty-seven-year-old man called William Tapping, with a beard down to his waist, has been discovered along with his elderly aunt. It is clear he has been shut up in the house for decades, but when it emerges that William is a talented artist, Helen is determined to discover his story.

Shy Creatures is a life-affirming novel about all the different ways we can be confined, how ordinary lives are built of delicate layers of experience, the joy of freedom and the transformative power of kindness.

Detalii

Editura: Orion
An apariție: 2024
Nr. pagini: 400
Dimensiuni: 24 x 15 cm

Recenzii

Shy Creatures is a magnificent novel, elegantly written, beautifully devised and radiant with treasures to surprise and delight. It is both a compelling mystery about a lonely man with a hidden past and a deeply involving study of human frailty, divided loyalties, and what it means to help someone. Clare Chambers is a writer of formidable skill and this is her best work yet, penned with such intelligence, tenderness and emotional acuity, it took my breath away. I loved it to its bones -- EMMA STONEX

I adored Shy Creaturesand eked out this addictive treat as long as I could and now can only urge anyone with an interest in psychiatry, siblings, Croydon, buried trauma, adultery, the early 60s or simply humanity to seek it out. Once again, Clare Chambers reveals her unflinching grasp of human fallibility and eye for the resonant detail that make the reader care deeply about her characters' fates. A lively, funny, forgiving novel which I bet will do just as well as Small Pleasures -- PATRICK GALE

Shy Creatures reads easily and delightfully and yet is rich with emotional truth, and completely absorbing. I loved it, and didn't want it to end -- LISSA EVANS

Beautiful . . . A rich and tender story of kindness and compassion and the survival of the human spirit against enormous odds -- RUTH HOGAN

NAUTILUS English Books este membru asociat al Booksellers Association of the UK and Ireland

Newsletter

Dacă dorești să te ținem la curent, te rugăm să introduci mai jos adresa de email
 Abonare
 Abonare
Acest site foloseste cookies pentru a personaliza conținutul, pentru analiza traficului și statistică; unele informații de utilizare a site-ului sunt procesate de partenerii noștri. Puteți oricând să ștergeți cookie-urile din browser. Citeste aici politica de cookies, politica de confidentialitate si termenii si conditiile de utilizare.
Am citit, am inteles si sunt de acord.