Meniu
Cos de cumparaturi

Blood & Sugar

Blood & Sugar
-20 % Stoc momentan epuizat
Blood & Sugar
  • Stoc: Stoc momentan epuizat
  • ISBN: 9781509880799
41,60 Lei
52,00 Lei
Fără TVA: 41,60 Lei
‘A page-turner of a crime thriller . . . This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity’ - C. J. Sansom

Blood & Sugar is the thrilling debut historical crime novel from Laura Shepherd-Robinson for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock – horribly tortured and branded with a slaver’s mark.

Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham – a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career – is visited by the sister of an old friend. Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He’d said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . . .

To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend’s investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family’s happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him.

And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford . . .


Laura Shepherd-Robinson has written a story that is not only a page-turner of a thriller but, to an extent unusual in historical novels, where you feel you really are listening to a voice from the eighteenth century. This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity’ -- C. J. Sansom

A novel of astonishing skill, Financial Times

A tightly plotted crime story with vivid details of Georgian England, Sunday Times

Stunning . . . Blood & Sugar is a harrowing and brutal epic [that] shocks and thrills in equal measure, Express

A striking historical thriller . . . Few first novels are as accomplished as this -- Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London

Epic, harrowing, thrilling, brutal, addictive. I read it flat out in one day -- C. J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

Enthralling, Daily Telegraph

Magnificent . . . A tense and gripping historical thriller that shines an unwavering light on a dark period in British history. Unmissable. -- Antonia Hodgson, author of The Devil in the Marshalsea

Phenomenal . . . A shoo-in for one of the books of the year -- David Young, author of Stasi Child

A searing, ingeniously constructed story, The Times
Detalii
Autor SHEPHERD-ROBINSON, Laura
An apariţie 2020
Editura Pan
Nr pagini 464
Dimensiuni 20 x 13 cm
Format Paperback, B
Cuvinte cheie: laura shepherd-robinson